LLC Cost In Alaska - How Much To Pay In Fees & Taxes in AK

13 Min Read
0 Reviews
Last updated November 15, 2022
Written by Dmytro Kondratiev
Editor, lawyer
Disclosure: We earn a commission from some partner links. Commissions do not affect our editors' opinions or evaluations.

This article will not only help you find out how much it costs to form an LLC in Alaska but also the least expensive way to start one in the state, as well as relevant annual expenses every LLC in the state should consider. Here, you will  find out:

  • How much does it cost to open an LLC in Alaska?
  • What taxes will you have to pay to legally run an LLC?
  • Do you have to get and renew your business license?
  • What additional services you may need?

If you need step-by-step instructions explaining how to form an LLC in Alaska, be sure to read them here.

How Much Does an LLC Cost in Alaska?

When talking about the cost of an LLC, the first thing that comes to mind is the state filing fee, the main one in the LLC formation process. However, there are also other fees to consider when forming your legal entity in Alaska.

That said, in this section, we'll discuss all the fees you need to consider to properly prepare for your LLC registration process.

Alaska LLC Online Filing Fee: $250

So that the state government recognizes your LLC as a separate legal entity with all its rights and privileges, you must file the Articles of Organization (Form 08-484) with the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development.

The person who signs and files the Articles of Organization with the Department of Commerce is called the organizer. This person may be separate from the members or managers of the company.

The following information must be listed in the Articles of Organization:

  • Name of the limited liability company;
  • The purpose for which the company is organized;
  • NAICS code;
  • Registered agent’s (RA) name and address;
  • Management type (member-managed or manager-managed LLC);
  • Signature and the full name of the organizer;
  • Contact person name, email, phone, and mailing address.

You can file online or send your Articles of Organization by mail with an attached check or money order for the $250 filing fee.

Mailing Address:

State of Alaska Corporations Section

P.O. Box 110806

Juneau, AK 99811

Office Address:

333 Willoughby Ave., 9th Floor

State Office Building

Juneau, AK 99801-1770

Fax: (907) 465-2974

Standard processing time: 10-15 days.

Alaska Biennial Report Fee: $100

Any business registered in the state of Alaska, including limited liability companies, must file a biennial report with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business & Professional Licensing once every 2 years (by January 2nd). You can file online or by mail.

Note that all reports filed later than February 1 are delinquent and subject to fines.

Below are the step-by-step instructions to follow when filing your biennial report online:

  • Collect all the necessary information before completing the report form, as the online system may require you to restart the process due to long waiting times;
  • Turn off the auto-fill feature in your browser to avoid entering the data incorrectly, and provide up-to-date information;
  • Enter your LLC's business name in the “Entity Name” field and click “Search;”
  • In the search results, select your business by clicking the entity number next to your business name;
  • Click the link to file your biennial report for the LLC;
  • Select either “file online” or “print form”. The site will generate the Alaska Biennial Report form for your business.

Make sure you verify all the information you entered, as errors/mistakes will require you to redo the report and incur an Alaska LLC fee for registration.

Note that the document can also be mailed or faxed in, however, in this case, the processing time can take up to 3 weeks.

Registered Agent Fee: $39 - $300

According to Alaska law, every LLC or corporation in the state must appoint and continuously maintain a registered agent. Thus, if your Articles of Organization do not include the required information about your agent, your application will be rejected.

An RA can be an individual or business entity that is responsible for receiving important legal or tax documents on behalf of your company, e.g. accepting mail from the state and forwarding it to you in a timely manner.

You can also be your own RA for the LLC, or this can be your relatives, friends, or acquaintances. Alternatively, you can also hire a commercial RA service.

If you choose the last option, you'll get the following benefits:

  • Privacy. The RA will provide its own address to list in your Statute, which is in the public domain on the official website of the Alaska Division of Corporations;
  • Experience. Most reputable RA companies have many years of experience in the field;
  • Peace of mind. As an LLC owner, you will not have to worry about missing an important deadline or a legal/tax document.

Choosing a reliable RA service for your LLC will be much easier if you read "The Best Registered Agent Services" on our website. Annual LLC fee in Alaska ranges from $39 to $300 per year.

Initial Report Fee: $0

Once your LLC is established, i.e. directly after the formation process, you must file an initial biennial report with the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (DCCED) every other year.

See Alaska Biennial Report Fee for instructions on how to complete the report.

The filing fee for a biennial report is $100, and the initial report filing comes at no charge.

Cost to Form a Foreign LLC in Alaska

If you already have an LLC in another state and want to expand your business to Alaska, you can register as a foreign LLC in the state.

For this, you will need to go through the foreign qualification process and file the Application for Certificate of Registration for a Foreign Limited Liability Company online or by mail with the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development.

How much is an LLC in Alaska for non-residents? The filing fee is $350. Thus, you can mail the Application for Certificate of Registration and the $350 filing fee in U.S. dollars to the following address:

State of Alaska, 

Corporations Section, 

PO Box 110806, 

Juneau, AK 99811-080 

Submit In Person:

333 Willoughby Ave., 9th Floor

State Office Building

Juneau, AK 99801-1770

Fax: (907) 465-2974

Just like domestic LLCs, foreign LLCs need to file an initial biennial report after registration. In Alaska, the cost to file the report for foreign LLCs is $200.

Cost to Form a PLLC (Professional LLC) in Alaska

Alaska does not allow professionals (e.g. accountants, attorneys, and physicians) to form professional limited liability companies. However, licensed professionals who provide their services can still form a standard LLC in the state.

Note that if your business falls into one of the professional categories, you will need to obtain a professional license, which can cost several thousand dollars. Thus, we recommend contacting your profession’s state licensing board to know their requirements in advance. 

You can visit the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing’s website for Alaska’s professional regulatory boards' contact information.

Business License Renewal Fee: $50

Alaska state law requires all businesses to obtain a business license. This is regulated on a statewide level and applies to all legal business entities, including LLCs.

Steps for obtaining a business license: 

  • Apply for your general business operating license online through the Alaska Department of Commerce's website;
  • Find out what additional local licenses may be applicable for your business at the city or county level and obtain them;
  • Find out if you need to apply for additional statewide licenses;
  • Apply for federal licenses and tax treatment;
  • Pay the $50 fee to receive a business license with the state government.

In Alaska, it's mandatory to renew your business license every year. The fee for a business license renewal is $50. Alternatively, you can also pay for a two-year license.

Other LLC Filing Costs

It's time to consider a few additional services you may need when forming your business. Explore them to know which ones will be relevant to your business and consider what other Alaska LLC fees you'll need to pay.

LLC Name Reservation

Completing an LLC name reservation can be useful if you want your business name to be saved for your exclusive use for a defined period.

However, if you have already decided to file your Articles of Organization, the Alaska Department of Commerce will automatically record the name when registering your business.

Note that your business name must necessarily meet all the necessary naming requirements that are defined by Alaska Statutes and Regulations. Otherwise, it will be rejected.

Peculiarities of an LLC name reservation in Alaska:

  • The Alaska LLC name reservation fee is $25 (non-refundable);
  • The reservation period is up to 120 days prior to LLC formation.

To reserve your chosen LLC name, you can file a Business Name Reservation Form online or complete and file Form 08-559 by mail, in person, or by fax.

DBA Name

If you want to do business under a different (alternative) name, other than your official LLC business name, you apply for a DBA or assumed name in Alaska by filing a Business Name Registration form with the Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing.

You can do this online or by mail. The filing fee is $25.

Just like an official business name, your assumed name can be registered with the Department of Revenue for 5 years.

Certified Document Copies

In general, most documents are constantly available in the database on the DCBPL's website and can be accessed or downloaded at no charge. To search for an entity, click Search Corporations Database

However, if you need a hard copy of your documents on record, you will need to complete and submit to the Corporations Section a Copy Request form (08-562) along with the appropriate non-refundable fee. 

  • Processing time: 10-15 business days upon receipt;
  • Filing fee: $10 non-refundable fee for each document requested and $30 for all documents contained in one entity’s file (up to 50 pages and $1.00 per page for each additional page > 50).

To request a certified copy of your LLC's documents, you will need to complete and submit the same Copy Request form (08-562) to the Corporations Section, along with the appropriate fees. 

  • Processing time: 10-15 business days upon receipt;
  • Filing fee: $5 for each certified copy request. Note that the fee is in addition to the copy request fee.

Certificate of Compliance

In Alaska, the Certificate of Compliance (AKA Certificate of Good Standing) proves that the business entity is operating in compliance with state laws and regulations, is legally formed, and has been properly maintained.

If you need the certificate, you can order one from the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development by mail or through the official website. Before you apply, make sure that:

  • Your Alaska business is up-to-date with state compliance requirements;
  • You follow local, state, and federal licensing guidelines, and your LLC has all the necessary permits. Learn more about Alaska business licensing requirements here;
  • You have filed your biennial report with the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development;
  • You have registered for different forms of Alaska state tax (depending on your business).

How much for an LLC in Alaska cost to get a Certificate of Good Standing? The filing cost per document is $10.

FAQ