If you are thinking about starting your own business in Nevada, this article can be very useful for you. No need to research on your own - we have already done the heavy lifting for you and figured out all the nuances.
That said, here's what we are going to discuss in this publication:
To understand how to form an LLC in Nevada, we also recommend reading our step-by-step guide How to Start an LLC in Nevada: Cost and Registration Steps 2022.
Table of Content
LLC cost in Nevada includes the state filing fee you pay when you form a company, regular Nevada LLC fees, and several other costs, including business licenses and taxes. Let's understand each fee in more detail.
The main fee you will need to pay to form a limited liability company in Nevada is the state filing fee when submitting the Articles of Organization, annual list (with the names and addresses of the company’s managers or managing members), and business license fee.
All of these documents and fees can be filed/paid online in one package and in one payment.
The cost to register an LLC in Nevada is $425, including:
Upon confirmation of registration, your LLC will be considered a valid legal entity and you will be able to conduct business within the state of Nevada.
Each year, a Nevada LLC is required to file an annual report with up-to-date information about your company, which includes basic information:
This information is necessary to keep your business information up to date. It will help creditors and other interested parties find your address and contact you as needed.
To maintain your LLC's good standing status and keep running business within the state of Nevada, you must file your annual list with the Secretary of State by the end of the month your LLC was formed.
Along with that, you will also renew your state business license, which is contained in the same filing.
You can file your annual list online. For this, you will need:
You can also mail to:
Secretary of State
202 N. Carson St.
Carson City, NV 89701-4201
Nevada's Annual LLC fee is $350 ($150 for the annual list, and $200 for your business license renewal).
If you do not submit your annual list on time, you will be fined $75, and your LLC registration may be revoked.
In the state of Nevada, you are required to have your own registered agent, who will receive legal and tax documents for your company primarily from the state government. The agent will also accept service of process in case of any lawsuit filed against your company.
If you wish, you can act as your own RA for the LLC, or this can be a non-profit agent, i.e. any person you can trust who is over 18 years old and permanently resides in the state.
However, we recommend choosing a reliable commercial registered agent service since such a solution has a lot of advantages:
If you decide to hire a professional RA company, you will need to add the annual company fee to your calculations, which usually ranges from $49 to $300 per year.
You can also find a list of the best registered agents in Nevada in our ranking.
If you already have a business in another state and want to start a business, including one in Nevada, you can register your company as a foreign LLC.
To do this, you will need to complete and file an Application for Registration of a Foreign Limited Liability Company to Nevada's Secretary of State and pay the $425 filing fee.
The foreign LLC Application for Registration form can filed by mail, fax, or in person.
Nevada Secretary of State
New Filings Division
202 North Carson Street
Carson City NV 89701-4201
Email: [email protected]
Fax: (775) 684-7138
Expedited Fax: (775) 684-5645
For local businesses, the cost of starting an LLC in Nevada only includes the $425 registration fee.
Additional costs depend on the type of your business business and may include:
If you choose to hire a professional service to help you form your business, you will receive the following benefits:
To help you choose the best service to form an LLC, we recommend that you study the current rankings .
Nevada is one of the rare states that allows the formation of a Series LLC (SLLC). It's a special form of LLC, which includes a "parent" or “umbrella LLC and one or more "series" or sub-LLCs.
Each series has its own assets, reporting, and corporate veil. In the event of any problems in the business of one series, other series are not financially liable.
Key benefits of Series limited liability companies:
Registering a Series limited liability company allows for significant overall savings on the cost to form an LLC in Nevada, as one Articles of Organization and a single business license are registered and renewed annually in Nevada.
The cost to form a series limited liability company in Nevada is also $425.
The fee includes:
Thereafter, you will also pay a single business license fee and send an annual report on behalf of the Series LLC.
A professional limited liability company (PLLC) is another unique business entity, which is designed for businesses that provide professional services (e.g. legal, healthcare, engineering, accounting, etc.) that require a license.
In order to register a PLLC, each of the members must have a professional license. Once the Articles of Organization are registered, a certified copy must be filed with the appropriate licensing authority.
Otherwise, the order of registration as well as the cost to start a PLLC and LLC annual fees in Nevada are the same:
Also, when calculating how much is an LLC in Nevada, consider the need to pay for professional licenses.
We've mentioned above that to understand how much an LLC costs in Nevada, you need to consider the $200 annual business license renewal fee.
This Nevada LLC annual fee is paid regardless of the type of your business, along with the annual list fee.
In addition to mandatory fees, there are some optional services you should consider, which are in many cases quite useful.
If you have already chosen a suitable business name but, for any reason, aren't ready to form a company, you need to reserve it. After all, while you're "getting ready," the same or a very similar business name can be taken by someone else.
In the state of Nevada, you can reserve your company name for up to 90 days. For this, you need to file a Name Reservation Request form with the Nevada Secretary of State and pay the $25 fee.
The application can be submitted online through the business filing portal or by mail.
A "doing business as" (DBA) is an alternative business name that can be used by a sole proprietorship, partnership, or a limited liability company in place of an official name for marketing purposes.
Note that because the DBA filing process occurs on the county level, there’s no single form that can be used throughout the state. Thus you should contact your county’s clerk. Find your county clerk contact information on this page.
For a limited liability company in Nevada, the DBA registration fee is $20. You can apply online on the Secretary of State's website or by mail.
You can get certified copies of your business documents at any time by applying on the Secretary of State's website and paying the $30 fee + $2 per page.
A certificate of good standing (or "good standing certificate") is a document that proves your good standing with the state of Nevada. It can be ordered from the Secretary of State if you legally operate in the state, timely submit reports, and pay all your LLC fees.
You can order such a certificate online from your SilverFlume account by simply selecting "Good Standing Certificate." Or send a letter with the name of your company, along with a check for $50.00 made payable to the Secretary of State to:
Secretary of State Barbara K. Cegavske
202 North Carson Street
Carson City, Nevada 89701-4201
You may need such a certificate when applying to a bank or lending institution.