Formation in Virginia is pretty accommodating—it costs only $100 to register an LLC of any type. Plus, the annual cost of LLC in Virginia is only $50 for renewal that functions as the state’s annual report and has no additional fees.
You can learn more about these steps in our article on Virginia LLC formation.
Table of Content
What forms the core cost of setting up an LLC in Virginia is the state fee of $100 that every organizer has to pay when filling the formation documents with the State Corporation Commission.
How long does it take for an LLC to be approved in Virginia? The processing takes about 2-3 business days for electronic filings and up to 2 weeks for mail applications.
This Virginia LLC annual fee is $50. Here, companies of this type are exempt from annual reporting and related expenses and instead must pay the annual registration fee that follows the state’s assessment.
Possibly the cheapest way to start an LLC in Virginia is to avoid professional registered agents, since the state allows you to appoint yourself or your friends and family.
This is not an ideal solution in most cases, and it’s highly recommended you work with a professional:
The foreign LLC cost in Virginia is $100 per application. The process is technically the same as what you go through with domestic formations. You can learn more about eligibility from the SCC checklist.
The Virginia state filing fee for LLCs is $100. This entity must be formed in the commonwealth and follow its registration requirements, including the appointment of a registered agent who is a resident or has a physical address in the relevant jurisdiction.
Virginia allows owners to designate a protected series, under which new LLCs can be tied to one “parent” LLC while still functioning as separate entities. An application for designation costs $100.
Professional LLCs can be formed by owners that intend to provide qualified services. The professional LLC price in Virginia is also $100.
An LLC won’t be taxed as an entity if it retains its default tax system. Note that even if your company is exempt from corporate income tax, it will still have to pay some or all of the following Virginia LLC fees:
The utility tax is calculated based on your energy usage:
You can find more about business entity tax on the Virginia Department of Taxation website.
There is no general business license requirement. But does an LLC need a business license in Virginia in specific fields?
Various professions and occupations will likely require some form of a license or permit, with the renewal rates fluctuating between $30 and $700. You can find more about these qualifications on the DPOR website.
If you elect a C-corp tax structure for your company, your LLC will be subject to the state corporate tax of 6% (on Virginia profits). Note that other Virginia corporation filing fees may apply in this case.
If your LLC is classified as a disregarded entity, you will pay individual tax on your share of the profits. Personal tax rates in Virginia range from 2% to 5.75% depending on the income bracket.
Below is a brief list of basic Virginia Secretary of State filing fees.
|Filing fee (Domestic, Foreign, PLLC, Protected Series)||$100|
|Late annual registration penalty||$25|
|Certificate of Fact||$6|
|Change of Name||$25|
|Amendment of the Articles of Organization||$25|
On top of the main cost to register LLC in Virginia, you may encounter additional expenses that are technically optional but still fairly common:
Name reservations for domestic and foreign LLCs cost $10 per application. You can reserve it online or mail the official form. It’s important to remember that these names must be distinguishable, otherwise the state will reject your application.
You can reserve names for up to 120 days and file repeat applications.
Registering a fictitious name costs $10 for both entities and individuals. There are no requirements for uniqueness for these names.
The state issues non-certified copies for free as long as the document is fewer than 25 pages. Costs apply for longer documents:
Certifications are not part of the mandatory LLC fees in Virginia, but most owners will require a copy at some point. The certification costs $6 per document on top of whatever fee applies to your copies.
In Virginia, an LLC’s existence or compliance is confirmed by the Certificate of Fact of Existence. You can request it online for $6.
Property deeds are often required for mergers, conversions, name changes, and other structural changes of the company. These certificates cost $6 per document.