The cheapest way to start an LLC in Kansas is to file Articles of Organization ($160) on your own. In this case, you will only need to pay the filing fee.
If you plan to address the best LLC services to register an LLC, however, the cost will also include other fees. On average, the total cost of registering a business in the state of Kansas is around $210 - $220.
Table of Content
As mentioned earlier, to start an LLC in Kansas, you will need to file your Articles of Organization with the Secretary of State. The filing fee depends on your chosen filing method: $160 (online filing) or $165 (paper filing). Note that the filing fee is not refundable.
Additional costs add to the total cost are as follows:
There’s a chance you will need to obtain certified copies of your business docs from the Secretary of State. The fee is $15 + $1 for each page.
The same goes for a Certificate of Good Standing (CGS). Just like with certified copies, you can order such a CGS from the Secretary of State's website. The fee is $10 for online copies or $15 for physical copies.
The document confirms that the LLC is authorized to do business in the state and is in good standing with the state, i.e. has timely filed all reports and paid all the necessary fees. A CGS is also required by banks and lending institutions.
Once you complete your Articles of Organization, you will need to file it with the Kansas Secretary of State. Once approved, you can also request a certified copy to verify your LLC registration is valid.
The filing fee is $165 for applications by mail and $160 for online applications.
If you plan to expand your business to Kansas, you will need to register your company as a foreign LLC in the state by filing an Application for Registration of Foreign Covered Entity. This will cost you $165 (applications by mail only).
Every Kansas LLC is required to file an annual report with the Secretary of State due by the 15th day of the 4th month following the end of the LLC’s taxable year. You can file by submitting the form by mail or online.
The fee is $50 (for online applications) and $55 (for applications by mail)
Secretary of State
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 SW 10th Ave.
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
Note that failing to file your annual report within 90 days of the due date can result in the dissolution of the LLC.
State law (KA Corporate Code 17-6201 and 17-6202) requires every LLC to appoint and maintain a resident agent (also known as a registered agent) with a registered office in the state.
Just like in any other state, you can be your own RA or this can be any person of legal age that you trust with a permanent address in the state. However, using a professional RA service is still the best way to keep your company in compliance.
The cost of professional RA services for LLCs in Kansas varies from $50 to $300 on average. However, some business formation services will offer a free year of registered agent services if you hire them to form an LLC.
To change your RA in the state, you will need to fill out and file a Change of Registered Agent by Corporation or LLC form with the Secretary of State. The document form must be submitted by mail, and the filing fee is $35 (for paper filings) and $30 (for online filings).
As throughout the U.S., Kansas LLC fees include various tax fees. Namely, the self-employment tax, which covers social security, healthcare, and other benefits, applies to all income of managers or members of the LLC who take profits out of the business.
The current self-employment tax rate in Kansas is 15.3%. To deduct your LLC expenses from your total income, you must calculate your self-employment tax.
Every LLC in Kansas must also pay:
Some Kansas cities or counties also have an additional tax for a combined sales tax (from 6.5% to 10.5% across the state).
For LLCs with incomes of up to $50,000, there is a flat rate of 4%. For larger amounts, you must pay an additional 3% income tax.
When a foreign company does business in the state of Kansas, the owner must file an Application for Registration of Foreign Covered Entity with the Secretary of State and pay the $165 fee.
You can read more about the specifics of doing business in the state of Kansas in K.S.A. 17-7932.
To register a series LLC, you will need to file the Articles of Organization with the Secretary of State ($160 online and $165 by mail). However, you might want to consult a professional attorney to get the right filing information for your LLC.
Once your Articles of Organization are approved, you will need to file a Certificate of Designation for each "child" series. This can be done online or by mail.
The cost of filing Articles of Organization for a series LLC is $250. The cost of filing the Certificate of Designation is $100/child series.
The cost of registration is the same as for a domestic LLC. But the Low-Profit LLC (L3C) gives its owners the flexibility to determine financial and non-financial rights and taxation opportunities.
If you plan to establish an LLC for licensed activities, you will need to file a Professional Limited Liability Company Articles of Organization (DL 51-22 form) with the Secretary of State. Print it out and mail it in. The cost is $165.
To renew your license, you will need to download, print, and fill out the paper renewal form and mail it to the Board office with a check or money order for $95.00 (the biennial renewal fee is $95 and the late fee is $20.00). You can find more information here.
The cost of obtaining a business privilege license is determined on an individual basis, depending on the specifics of your company.
To properly calculate how much is an LLC in Kansas, you need to consider additional fees, which depend on the specifics of your business.
You may need additional services such as LLC name reservation (if you come up with a good name that is available in the state, you can reserve it in advance for 120 days). The fee is $30 (for online applications) or $35 (for applications by mail).
There is no formal DBA or a trade name registration process in Kansas, and you are not legally required to register your fictitious business name in the state. Therefore, you should check with your local business department or county to see if DBA registration is available.
The cost is $99 + applicable state fees.
Certified copies of Articles of Organization and other documents can be ordered:
It usually takes up to 5 days for the Secretary to review and approve an LLC. This process cannot be expedited.
The cost is $15 for certification + $1 per page.
A Certificate of Good Standing verifies that the LLC is legally formed and complies with applicable state laws. The document is issued by the Secretary of State.
The cost is $10 (for online requests) or $15 (for paper requests).
If you need to apply for a loan, sign an agreement/contract, or sell part of your business, you may need to obtain a Tax Clearance Certificate.
Kansas issues the Certificate that will confirm that the business is in compliance with all tax laws and payments, collected by the Kansas Department of Labor, as well as additional fees.
You can apply for a Tax Clearance Certificate from the Department of Revenue free of charge.