To form a limited liability company, you need to file documents called Articles of Organization with the Secretary of State. In Arkansas, this procedure will cost you $45, but that is not the only expense required.
In this article, we'll take a look at the total LLC in Arkansas cost, including not only the filing fees but also other billable processes during the forming and setting up of a business.
Table of Content
Before filing the Articles of Organization with the Secretary of State, the organizer needs to have complete information on the future firm: legal name, registered agent's address, and more.
To get this information, the owner has to pay Arkansas LLC fees. For example, the registered agent will take a charge for their services.
If you're wondering "How much is an LLC in Arkansas?", then boldly add the extra expense of a few tens or hundreds of dollars to the cost of filing the incorporation documents.
Arkansas limited liability company registration is accomplished by filing a Certificate of Organization on Form LL-01. The procedure can be done online.
Note! The organizer may mail documents to the Arkansas Secretary of State 1401 W. Capital Ave. Suite 250 Little Rock, AR 72201. The fee will be $5 more which means you will pay the Arkansas LLC filing fee of $50.
According to the Arkansas Franchise Tax Act of 1979, all limited liability companies in the state are required to pay an annual franchise tax report fee.
There will be an additional processing fee of $5 or more if you pay by credit card; for e-check, the charge will be $3. There are no processing fees if submitted by mail. In that case, you only need to cover the tax amount.
Note! Even if the LLC operation has been terminated but not dissolved/revoked, franchise tax will accrue.
Any LLC owner can become his/her own registered agent, and the upside of that is you don't have to pay yourself a salary. But in this case, the registered address becomes public, and the business owner will have to do a lot of routine work.
By choosing a commercial registered agent, the owner will get more business benefits (with the exception of having to pay LLC annual Arkansas fees).
Note! Any business in Arkansas is required to appoint a registered agent. Without meeting this requirement, the Secretary cannot approve the company formation documents.
Every business in Arkansas is obliged not only to appoint an agent for procedural services but also to include the address of the registered office in the Articles of Organization.
When appointing a commercial registered agent, you will be provided with the address of the registered office located in the state.
Virtually all LLC owners pay income tax on the funds they receive from their business. And the rate will depend primarily on the amount of income.
The tax rates current for 2022 are:
Note! Arkansas also has a one-time tax deduction as well as tax credits, which are also tied to net income.
If you want to do business in Arkansas but this is not your home state, you will need to form a Foreign LLC. But first, it's important to find and appoint a local registered agent and then:
Note! Entrepreneurs do not need to file Articles of Organization with the Secretary of State, as local firms are required to do. Instead, they are obliged to register a foreign LLC.
A series LLC is a type of entity in which assets are distributed among the companies within a group. In Arkansas, Series LLCs are those limited liability companies that have one or more protected entities.
You can create a Series LLC by filing a Certificate of Organization for SLLC. The forms are available on the Secretary's website.
Note! You can only send documents to create an SLLC by mail. Take the mailing time into account.
Licensed specialists can form a professional limited liability company (physicians, architects, etc).
The requirements for registering this type of business are not much different from registering for a regular LLC. You need to choose a name, appoint an agent, fill out the foundation documents, and file them.
Cost to register LLC in Arkansas for professionals: $45 online, $50 by mail.
Arkansas does not require owners to have business licenses in order to be eligible to operate in the state. However, these requirements may exist at the local level.
For example, in Fayetteville, all businesses operating within the city limits need to obtain a business license no later than 60 days after the establishment date. It is required to be renewed each year by Oct. 31, and the LLC cost in Arkansas for renewal is $15.
Below, we will tell you what additional costs may be necessary for you to include.
To reserve a name in Arkansas, file Form LLC-05. Note that credit card payments are not accepted for this service, but you can do it through an e-check or an account on the Secretary of State's website.
There are also requirements to reserve a Foreign LLC Name. First, you will need to check it for availability.
Cost: $22.50 online, $25 by mail.
You can use a DBA name in your marketing efforts or for audience engagement. But before you are eligible to use it, go through the registration process.
You can do this on the Secretary of State's website in the Forms Fees/Records Requests section. However, name reservations should be done not only at the state but also at the county level.
Arkansas LLC price DBA: $22.50 online, $25 by mail.
There are a number of ways to order certified copies of the formation documents in Arkansas:
If your business meets all the requirements and meets the deadlines, you can request a Certificate of Good Standing from the state.
The inquiry can be submitted online, and the cost is $25.
To reserve a Foreign LLC Fictitious Name, the Secretary of State may request an F-18 form sent online or by mail. In this case, LLC fees in Arkansas will be $22.5/online or $25/mail submission.